Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

A Gluten-Free Diamond Jubilee Part 2

7 Comments

Did you try out the coronation chicken recipe I posted the other day? Have you ever even heard of coronation chicken before? I hadn’t, not until I moved to the UK!

I have another recipe for you today, this time for gluten-free bakewell tartlets. Bakewell tarts are delicious almond tarts with three layers: a tart base, a layer of strawberry jam, and a frangipane topping. They are one of my favourite traditional English treats and these mini versions do not disappoint!

Gluten-Free Bakewell Tartlets

Tart base adapted from this recipe at Eat Life Whole
Frangipane adapted from the Bakewell Tart recipe at Cakes ‘n’ Bakes

For the base you will need:

1/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
1/4 cup ground almonds or almond flour
pinch of salt
1 egg, beaten
1 1/2 tbsp honey
1 1/2 tbsp melted coconut oil, slightly cooled but not re-solidified

Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F).

Combine the dry ingredients. Add the egg to the flours, then add the honey and coconut oil.

Roll balls of dough in your hands (you should get about six out of this recipe) and press into the bottom of a well-greased muffin tin or silicone cupcake liners. If you have mini tart pans, even better! Use your thumb to make an indent in the middle of each tart base, pressing around the outside so that it forms a bit of a valley for your jam.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until very lightly browned.

While your tartlet bases are cooling, make your frangipane.

For the frangipane you will need:

3 tbsp butter, melted
1 tbsp honey
1 egg + 1 egg white
1/2 tsp almond extract
scant 3/4 cup ground almonds
1 tbsp coconut flour

You will also need:

6 teaspoons strawberry jam*
Flaked almonds

Combine the butter and the honey in a bowl and mix well. Add the egg, egg white, and almond extract.

To the wet ingredients add your ground almonds and coconut flour. Mix to combine; the frangipane should be a lot wetter than your tart dough.

When your tartlet bases are cool, scoop a large teaspoon of strawberry jam into the valley in each one. Top with the frangipane, spreading and pressing it with your fingers or a spoon to ensure it covers the jam and touches the outside of the base.

Bake at 200°C (400°F) for 12-15 more minutes. Remove from the oven and drop some flaked almond slivers on top of your tartlets.

Return tartlets to the oven and bake for another 3-5 minutes or until the almonds look toasted.

Most of the flaked almonds will fall off the top of the frangipane when you move them – maybe try sticking them down by spreading another very thin layer of strawberry jam on the top of your tartlet before sprinkling.

Gently pop your bakewell tartlets out of the silicone cupcake moulds or your tray and enjoy!

*I used SuperJam, a new-to-me brand that uses grape juice instead of sugar to sweeten their jam. I thought this strawberry jam was excellent (as I licked the spoon after filling all of the tart bases) and I was pleasantly surprised how sweet it was considering it doesn’t have any sugar.

(Picture Source)

These bakewell tartlets are little powerhouses of almond and strawberry goodness. They are not cakey like regular bakewell tarts but the flavour is exactly the same.

Try not to eat them all at once (but I wouldn’t blame you if you did!).

(Picture Source)

Today is the last day of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee celebrations. It’s been a crazy weekend, and the whole country is acting very patriotic. I love it! I think this has been a great reminder of the importance of tradition, especially in a turbulent time for the economy.

Dubsy and I watched the Diamond Jubilee concert (pictured above) from the comfort of our couch. I would have loved to have been in London for the show, but I can’t imagine what it must have been like trying to leave Buckingham Palace and the surrounding area after it was over.

The concert itself was pretty good. Not all acts were great, but a few were spectacular, and the fireworks at the end more than made up for any musical shortcomings. I’ve mentioned before that I love fireworks and the pyrotechnic program last night was incredible! The best part of the whole show was when they used Buckingham Palace as a huge projection screen for images and blocks of colour or patterns. Brilliant, creative, and gorgeous!

I hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend, whether it was long or not! I’m not looking forward to going back to work tomorrow but at least it’s a three day week and it’ll be Saturday again soon :)

Let me know if you try out the bakewell tartlets!

Have you ever been to an outdoor concert? Who did you see?

Are you a fan of bakewell tarts?

7 thoughts on “A Gluten-Free Diamond Jubilee Part 2

  1. I LOVED the projection of images on Buckingham Palace too. It was beautiful. As for Bakewell tarts – oh I forgot about these! They’re so delightful, thank YOU for coming up with a honey-sweetened version. They look amazing!

  2. We had Diamond Jubilee celebrations here in Ottawa too! I didn’t even know that was celebrated here until I saw some pictures on a friend’s facebook wall. I sometimes forget that we’re still kind of an English colony over here!

  3. Oooh these look fabulous! Where did you find the coconut flour? I’ve been looking for coconut sugar and can’t seem to locate it anywhere in town :(

    • I haven’t seen coconut sugar but they have coconut flour at Holland and Barrett in the mall and at Revital on Bridge Street (Revital is cheaper!). I don’t know if you’ve been in there before, but they may also have coconut sugar. They have lots of cool things :)

  4. Super Jam! That looks yummy! Anything with a cute name pretty much has me wrapped around it’s sticky little finger… it’s my foodie weakness, what can I say ;) That recipe looks great!

  5. love the super jam and love the tarts. Saving it! you know my GF love!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers