Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

A Gluten-Free Diamond Jubilee Part 1

4 Comments

I feel for everyone standing along the Thames today watching the river pageant and flotilla for the Diamond Jubilee. It is absolutely pouring rain here. :(

At least any picnickers among the tens of thousands of spectators probably have a nice Coronation chicken sandwich to comfort them as they wait for the Queen to arrive on her float.

Coronation chicken was a dish devised in 1953 to mark the Queen’s coronation. An ‘updated’ version with ginger and lime was created in 2002 for the Queen’s golden jubilee, and now that we are celebrating the diamond jubilee, I’m sure both recipes have been packed into thousands of sandwiches around the country as people celebrate at street parties and in London along the banks of the Thames.

I love coronation chicken. It’s creamy and spicy and sweet all at once. It’s used mostly as a sandwich filler now, but the original coronation chicken was served with rice.

I whipped up some coronation chicken for our picnic yesterday and it was a hit! With containers of coronation chicken available all over the place (it is very popular over here), it isn’t necessary to make your own, but it’s an easy recipe and it tasted fantastic.

If you are avoiding gluten for health or dietary reasons, this recipe is gluten-free if you make sure your ingredients are as well. I don’t have a gluten intolerance but I find gluten makes me really bloated sometimes. I feel much better if I include less of it in my diet. With all the other tasty goodies going around this weekend, I thought I’d post a couple gluten-free recipes for those that want to or have to avoid it, since it is likely to be pretty prevalent in the jubilee celebrations!

Coronation Chicken

Adapted from this recipe in the Guardian

Ingredients (makes about 2 1/2 cups)

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts or 4 steaks
1/2 tsp cinnamon or a cinnamon stick
a pinch of salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp tumeric
1 tsp-size piece of peeled fresh ginger

2 tbsp mango chutney (Patak’s is gluten-free, be sure to check label)
3 tbsp greek yogurt
3 tbsp mayo (Hellman’s is gluten-free, or you can make your own)
1 tbsp curry powder (we used hot!)
1/2 tsp Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce
small handful chopped dried apricots, sultanas, or raisins (or a combination)
handful chopped fresh coriander

Add the cinnamon, salt, pepper, bay leaf, tumeric, and fresh ginger to a pot of simmering water. Poach your chicken breasts in the water for 15-20 minutes depending on their thickness. If you are using chicken breast steaks, they should only take about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix together all other ingredients in a large bowl.

Once the chicken is cooked, remove it from the hot water and allow to cool. Also remove the hunk of fresh ginger from the pot. Shred or chop the ginger and chicken and add them to your sauce ingredients.

Toss all ingredients together until the chicken is well coated.

Serve with rice, in a sandwich (with gluten-free bread), or over a bed of greens.

As you can see, mine doesn’t have coriander (also known as cilantro) in it, but I would recommend adding it if you have some handy. 

With extra slivered almonds on top for additional crunch.

It’s really hard to make coronation chicken look appetizing, but trust me when I say it tastes absolutely delicious!

I made two batches of coronation chicken – one with dried apricots and one with raisins. I can’t decide which I prefer and both are good, so just use whatever you have in your cupboard.

I’ll be back tomorrow with another gluten-free Diamond Jubilee recipe. I’m really excited for that one (even more so than the coronation chicken!) and I hope you’ll like it!

4 thoughts on “A Gluten-Free Diamond Jubilee Part 1

  1. This chicken recipe sounds very, very good!

  2. Were you in London?? I was watching some of the coverage (I get far more patriotic when I’m not living in England loool) and it just looked like such a phenomenal sight! Loved the fireworks at the end timed with the crescendo of the music and the bridge…wow.

  3. Wow! That looks fancy! I don’t eat chicken, but I bet my boyfriend would like this!

  4. Pingback: A Gluten-Free Diamond Jubilee Part 2 | Fit for my Fork

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers