Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

An Afternoon at Milton Country Park

5 Comments

It’s a long weekend here in the UK, but in typical British fashion we are due to get a lot of rain over the next couple of days. We had planned to have a picnic on Monday but it looked like today would be the driest day so we changed our plans.

I packed us a lunch of sandwiches, carrots and hummus, iced tea to be served in plastic wine glasses (we are so classy), a Melton Mowbray pork pie and some potato chips and we headed out to Milton Country Park.

The park is 95 acres and has several lakes and ponds and two miles of paths for walking, cycling, and horseback riding. We had never been there before and I love finding new places to walk since it’s one of our favourite weekend pastimes.

These pictures were taken by Dubsy. He has a far better eye for this than I do!

This is the only picture I took. I love ladybugs because they remind me of my grandmother – I have three tattooed on my back!

Have you ever heard a swan hiss? No, me neither, but this swan must have had a nest nearby because it was not happy that we were taking pictures of it. It came right at us and hissed like a cat!

I ran away and Dubsy laughed, but I saw a child get attacked by a swan once and it has really put me off them!

After eating our lunch and walking through the park we headed into Milton to see what it had to offer. The answer? Not much. It’s very small and we only found a few pubs (the life blood of every tiny English village) and a Tesco. So if you decide to head out to Milton, go for the park, not the high street ;)

What’s your favourite picnic food? Pork pies are our favourite. We don’t have them often but we sure love them when we do!

5 thoughts on “An Afternoon at Milton Country Park

  1. Looks like you had a great time in the park. Those pictures are lovely. My favourite is the one with the lady bug! And just think, a whole day out in nature, David Suzuki would be so proud! ;)

  2. I love lady bugs, too! They are one of the few insects I do love :) Very beautiful pictures. The park looks lovely.

  3. Pingback: A Gluten-Free Diamond Jubilee Part 1 | Fit for my Fork

  4. what a pretty set of pictures! Makes me feel like I just went to the park with you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers