Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

Happy Belated Macaroon Day!

5 Comments

I saw on a few blogs that yesterday was National Macaroon Day. I assumed the ‘national’ bit applies to the USA, but I saw that Mrs Crimbles was celebrating and I love macaroons, so I decided to celebrate too!

From Mrs Crimbles website: Although National Macaroon Day was originally celebrated in America, coconut macaroons were a British invention and the average Brit eats more macaroons than a typical American, so if anyone should be celebrating – it’s us! 

Who knew? Though obviously Mrs Crimbles is not familiar with a lot of the blogs I read, because some of those lovely American ladies seem to eat plenty of macaroons ;)

I made my macaroons earlier in the week, but in homage to Her Majesty the Queen, whom we are celebrating this weekend, I dunked them in chocolate yesterday. I read in The Times that the Queen is a bit of a chocoholic and therefore concluded that you must be a chocoholic to be a long-reigning head of the British Monarchy.

I then made a very tenuous link between my chocolate obsession and the Queen’s love of chocolate and declared that, naturally, I should be next in line to the throne. Clearly an appreciation for good chocolate is the best quality for a monarch to have!

(Let’s ignore the fact that I’m not even British).

Anyway…

I found a great recipe over at Edible Perspective that I used as my inspiration. I don’t have any almond meal or flour, I only have ground almonds, which have a lot more texture than the flour. Previously when I have made macaroons with ground almonds and shredded coconut, they have been quick to fall apart – even when I’m just trying to shape them on the baking tray.

I solved this problem by backing off on the shredded coconut and adding a bit of coconut flour to help keep them together. It gave the macaroons more of a cookie texture, but I love them and they don’t fall apart in my lunch box!

Orange and Chocolate Macaroon Bites

Adapted from Edible Perspective

Ingredients

2 egg whites or 4 tablespoons liquid egg whites
1/4 cup honey
1 1/2 cups desiccated coconut
1/2 cup ground almonds
1 tbsp coconut flour
1/2 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
1 tbsp orange zest
3 large squares (30g) of orange-flavoured dark chocolate
1 tsp coconut oil

Beat egg whites until fluffy, then add honey and beat for a few more minutes.

Add all other ingredients and mix gently. The dough should be slightly wet but if it is soupy, add more desiccated coconut not more coconut flour!

Dampen your hands and form the mix into small balls, then place on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Bake 15-20 minutes at 175°C (350°F) until there is a ‘lightly toasted’ look to the top.

Let the cookies cool and then put them in the fridge for a while (you want to be sure they are truly cold!).

Melt the chocolate and coconut oil together (if you do not have coconut oil, just use the chocolate – do not try to substitute any other kind of oil!) and dip your cookies into it, or drizzle the chocolate over top.

Obviously I went for the dunked method, because the more chocolate you can cram onto a cookie, the better!

These look very lumpy because the chocolate I used has pieces of orange peel in it.

After you have made a very big mess and have chocolate all over your fingers, put your cookies in the fridge to set. They keep best in the fridge and the coating tends to get a bit slippery if left out for too long.

A chocolate bar with pieces of flaked almond and orange peel is tasty, but it did make for a very lumpy coating. Luckily lumpiness doesn’t affect taste, because these are one of the best cookies I’ve ever made! They’re also the only macaroons I’ve made that have ever kept themselves together despite being thrown around on my bike ride to work.

Note: If you want to be sure that this recipe is gluten-free, make sure your ingredients are certified gluten-free. The chocolate I used, which was part of an Excellence Orange Intense bar from Lindt, is not gluten-free.

I even crumbled two of these over my oatmeal this morning for an indulgent breakfast. It’s been a very looooong week and I love any excuse to put chocolate in my oatmeal.

Any big plans for the weekend? Will you be celebrating the Diamond Jubilee or watching any of the festivities on the television?

5 thoughts on “Happy Belated Macaroon Day!

  1. Ooh these look amazing! I’m not surprised the Brits have more macaroons than Americans – I always thought of them as a very French thing and, well, you’re closer to the French than North America is after all! Can’t wait to give these a try – I use almond meal instead of flour too in most of my recipes!

  2. WOW I have never wanted to dive into a picture of food as much as I want to now! Those Macarrons looks absolutely incredible! I’m not sure if I’ll check out the Diamond Jubilee–there’s a lot of great sports happening this weekend, but who knows?!

  3. The crumbly macaroons over the oatmeal looks delicious. I’ve concluded that I would fit right in with the British Monarchy since I’m a chocoholic, too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers