Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

Fit Body, Fit Mind: Emily

5 Comments

Emily from The Blogging Runner is providing our book recommendation this week. Thanks, Emily!

*

About the Blogging Runner (www.bloggingrunner.com):

I have struggled with weight and body image my entire life. In fact, since I was old enough to understand what “weight” was, I remember becoming obsessed. After stressing through my tumultuous undergraduate years, I finally gained control of my weight, hunger, and life for the very first time. In my post-college years being naturally thin came easy for me. I enjoyed the freedom being skinny granted my life and everyday commitments. For the first time, my slender size-two body enjoyed confidence I had never known, and I was determined to embrace and remember every moment, which I did, including the many fabulous summer nights in the quaint summer city of Newport, RI.

So what happened to my formerly slender self? Honestly, I have no idea, but I have many, many theories, which I think could all possibly make sense. Rather than bore you with the minor, nit-picky, painful details, I’ll just say that life got hard, and I let it happen.

I stared by blog in August 2011, after countless failed attempts at dieting and exercising and maybe it was the blog or the timing, but something clicked.  I have lost 43 pounds thorough a lot of hard work and determination, and I intend to keep the weight off permanently. I am having a wonderful time on this crazy journey!

Reading:

I don’t read often, but when I do, I read to be inspired and pushed outside of my comfort zone. If I had more free time now,  I know I would read more.

Selected Book:

About a week ago I gave given the book, Dream New Dreams, as a gift. This book was written by Jai Pausch, the wife of Randy Pausch, who wrote the bestseller The Last Lecture. Dream New Dreams is all about Jai sharing her story as a wife, mother and full-time caregiver to her husband who was stricken with cancer. The book is inspiring and real, and it lets the reader understand the role of caregiver on a remarkably intimate basis.

What drew you to the book initially?

I actually wondered why I was given the book as a present. I was never a caregiver, but the book has a deeper meaning and is extremely truthful and honest.

Why is this book your favourite?

Honestly, I liked Jai’s honesty and wisdom. It was refreshing to read that even though I think my life is tough, someone else always has it worse and is handling it better.

Have you read anything else by this author?

This is the only book Jai has published (that I know about). But I was a giant fan of her husband’s book The Last Lecture.

Who would you recommend this book to?

This book helps put everything into perspective. The silly things that bother us on a daily basis are nothing compared to the struggles of others. Although I can’t relate directly to cancer or the obligations of a caregiver, this book helped me realize the more important things in life.

5 thoughts on “Fit Body, Fit Mind: Emily

  1. I would love to check this book, thanks for sharing!

  2. I wish I spelled Randy’s last name correctly. :(

  3. Thanks for your post Emily! I think I’d struggle with this one because cancer is rampant in my family. We lost my uncle to it only about 3 weeks ago. It does sound like one of those reads that really puts things into perspective though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers