Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

Fit Body, Fit Mind: Clare

3 Comments

It’s Tuesday, that means it’s time for another Fit Body, Fit Mind guest post! Our blogger today is Clare from Fitting It All In. Thanks for your recommendation, Clare!

*

Hi everyone!! My name is Clare and I blog over at Fitting It All In. I mostly ramble, but usually it involves my workouts, healthy meals, and outfits. I’m 24 and work in Dallas as an advertising account executive, but I also am a certified holistic health coach, gym-rat, social media maniac, and recovering m&m addict.

So books.  I think I was pretty typical in that during high school reading was a bit of a chore. Having to read for class took the fun out of it, so I didn’t do a whole lot on the side. Once I hit college and had more flexibility I started to love reading for pleasure again. The key for me is finding a GOOD BOOK. There is nothing better than one you just can’t put down and finish in days. Admittedly, this is often cheesy teen novels like Twilight and The Hunger Games, but recently I’ve been into more non-fiction topical books. I made a career switch and have worked hard to create a life that I love, so I enjoy reading books that inspire me and relate to my passions. I love reading about health and wellness, following your dreams, and achieving success. Some recent reads are Women Food & God by Geneen Roth, Add More ~Ing To Your Life by Gabrielle Bernstein, and The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.

One of my favorite books that I will always keep on my shelf for quick reference is called The Saint, The Surfer, and The CEO. I picked up this book by Robin Sharma at the recommendation of a blog reader when I was going through some soul-searching and began looking forward to reading it each night. It’s the type of book that required a highlighter for me, and almost every page is full of yellow ink. There are just too many good lessons and quotes.

The Saint, The Surfer, and the CEO reminds me a bit of Eat, Pray Love, in that the main character travels to three different locations and receives a “lesson” in each. I don’t want to give too much away, but it’s reminders of the important things in life, living life to the fullest, and being a good person are incredibly refreshing. Come to think of it, I should flip through again tonight.

I think anyone would like this book, but particularly those that are perhaps struggling to find a happy career or are looking to make some changes in their life. Or anyone that just loves cheesy inspiring quotes like me.

“Everything that happens to you is simply an opportunity a grow and heal a part of you that needs healing. The wise see this and then seize the opportunity to flourish into more of who they truly are.” – The Saint The Surfer and the CEO p.  45

Let me know if you read it!

3 thoughts on “Fit Body, Fit Mind: Clare

  1. Thanks for sharing this book Clare!

  2. I’ve never heard of that book but it sounds like I’d love it! Thanks for the recommendation Clare :)

  3. The book sounds very interesting!! I wasn’t into books during my high school and college years, but now I can’t get enough!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers