Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

Sunday Sunday Sunday!

6 Comments

It’s been a slow Sunday over here. The weather can’t make up it’s mind and we had hail, thunder and lightning less than an hour ago even though it was absolutely beautiful this morning! Good ol’ England.

It was one of those days in which I really didn’t mind being inside for most of the afternoon. I got my workout in (one more week left of Lean phase on Chalean Extreme!), did some cleaning, and then got down to business in the kitchen.

What was I whipping up this weekend? Well, funny you should ask, because I was going to tell you anyway.

Courgette Tart
Original recipe by the Hairy Bikers

This was taken at the ‘mix everything together in the bowl’ stage. Then I spread it out in a dish and baked it in the oven. This went horribly wrong for me. It tastes good, but it looks awful so I decided to spare you the finished product. I tried to modify this recipe to make it Primal and replaced regular flour with coconut flour. I cut it down to half what the recipe called for and still had to use a bunch of extra liquid to try to thin the batter out.

Oh well. You win some, you lose some.

(And I’m going to eat the squidgy mess anyway.)

Quinoa Buckwheat Cereal
Recipe by Eating Bird Food 

This is the third time in as many weeks that I’ve made this granola. I love it! The protein content in quinoa is great and I have always loved making my own breakfast cereal. I am quite happy eating oatmeal, buckwheat and quinoa and it is such a wonderful, tasty change from my usual eggs!

ChocoChia Milkshake
Recipe by The Spunky Coconut

This was my post-workout snack. Since I’m still on a green smoothie kick I blended some spinach with the coconut milk before adding the rest of the ingredients. I also put in some desiccated coconut for more coconutty goodness and a whopping big tablespoon of my chocolate whey protein powder. Mmm!

I devoured this before I even thought of taking a picture.

Girl Scout Cookie Larabars LaraBalls
Recipe by Chocolate Covered Katie

Here they are, all packed up and ready to take in my lunch.

The original recipe made bars, however I rolled them into balls because I just couldn’t be bothered. My hand blender does not mix things very well and I should have chopped the dates up before I attempted to mix them with the other ingredients.

These coconut and chocolate balls are so good! I’m really pleased with how they turned out, even though they have big chunks of unmixed date in them.

I was going to make up a sweet potato salad as well but now that I have parts of the courgette tart left (since Dubs wouldn’t touch it) I’m going to take that as a side dish in my lunch instead. Planning ahead is such a pain sometimes, and though the recipes I attempt don’t always work out, it does keep things interesting. I love trying new foods and taking unusual stuff in my lunch.

Speaking of new, I found this at Waitrose today and decided to give it a try:

I’m always a bit leery of trying flavoured coconut water because sometimes it can go really wrong. This one is cherry vanilla… and it was actually really good! The other brand I’ve tried is Vitacoco, and I found their peach and mango flavour absolutely disgusting. This one has grape juice and cherry juice in it.

The best coconut water I’ve ever had was at a food festival in London. I purchased a young coconut with the top machete’d off and a straw. Oh, and there were also two shots of rum in there. Rum and coconut water is one of the best cocktails ever, and I may argue it’s one of the healthiest.

It. was. so. good.

I may be a bit late to the party, but I’ve also just discovered Instagram. I doctored a few of the photos above with it this afternoon. It’s pretty cool, and makes my mediocre pictures look almost good (if I do say so myself!).

Have you tried flavoured coconut water? What did you think? 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Sunday Sunday!

  1. Hi Sam! Thanks for your comment over on my blog! And that coconut water looks DELICIOUS! :)

  2. Loved your post today!! The rum and coconut drink is just awesome!! I’d love to try that! I think what really caught my eye were the strange names of the recipes you’d tried and their respective cookbooks.. most unusual for us in Canada.. “Hairy Bikers” and “Eating Bird Food”.. it really makes cooking fun! It looks like most of your recipes worked out in the end!

  3. I like the regular stuff better, but flavored is good too! I did a CE workout this morning, too :)

  4. I love coconut water from fresh coconuts, it tastes so much better, i would say that is even sweeter than the regular boxed coco water!!

  5. Glad you made Katie’s Larabars (love the idea of making life simple and shaping them into balls!) – I wanted to try them but hadn’t so it’s always good to hear when someone’s given them a go and found the recipe easy to do! Thanks as well for your email – so glad you found me! I’m following you now :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers