Fit for my Fork

Fit food, fit body, fit mind!

A Day in the Kitchen

1 Comment

Phew! I am finally getting to sit down after several hours preparing a few meals for the next couple days. As with any healthy lifestyle and/or diet, planning ahead and putting the time in to make sure that you have good food to eat always makes life easier. If you have tasty things to look forward to eating, you are less likely to eat things you don’t want to or shouldn’t. This is definitely true for me!

I love trying new recipes and I don’t consider a Sunday afternoon spent in the kitchen a waste at all – especially since it means I have some yummy food to take to the office for lunch.

On today’s cooking menu:

Primal Cheddar Chili Biscuits
Inspired by the Primal Cheddar Jalapeno Biscuits from This Primal Life

I modified this recipe to go with what I had on hand. I also only made a third of a batch because it’s just me that’s going to be eating them! The biscuits in the picture on This Primal Life look far better than mine do, but they taste absolutely wonderful (I’ve already had two… shh!).

I used ground almonds because I have not been able to find almond flour in England, and mixed in 1/4 cup coconut flour since I find it helps make biscuits made with ground almonds a bit lighter and fluffier. I did not add any water and used Greek yogurt instead of plain yogurt since this is what I had on hand. Instead of jalapenos, I threw in half a chopped chili pepper. I also used less cheese than called for since we were almost out.

Sausage and Broccoli Breakfast Bake

I’ve seen various breakfast bakes/mini quiche muffins listed on lots of Paleo and Primal websites and decided to have a go at making one myself. This version was most influenced by this one. I wouldn’t recommend lining your pan with tin foil… it was hard to get out and I lost some eggy goodness to the foil as well. Our casserole dish is on its way out and I was worried about some of the mix getting into the cracks, hence the foil cover.

I peeled and grated one sweet potato, which I then fried in a bit of coconut oil with broccoli stems (the florets went in the detox salad below) and an onion. While I was grilling my chicken thighs for my lunch, I also grilled three sausages. When they were done, I threw the chopped sausages and the sweet potato, broccoli stem, and onion mix into the casserole dish. I grated a few tbsp of cheddar cheese over top of this, and the cheese started to melt on the warm potatoes.

I then mixed together five large eggs with 3/4 cup of milk, salt, pepper, and paprika, and dumped it over the top, pressing the bits of potato and broccoli that stuck out down into the egg mixture.

I haven’t tried this yet (just snuck a little bite as I was scraping it off the foil) but I think it will be delicious cold for breakfast in the morning!

Detox Raw Veggie Salad
Adapted from the Detox Salad on Oh She Glows

I like taking raw vegetables in my lunch, but I was getting pretty bored of carrot and celery sticks and salads, so I thought I’d try to branch out a little bit. This dish is tasty and fresh and filled with raw veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots) as well as dried fruit (raisins and cranberries – I didn’t have currants) and sesame seeds (I didn’t have sunflower seeds). I left out the kelp because it really didn’t appeal to me and I think it tastes fine without it. I did follow Angela’s suggestion of adding a bit of maple syrup when I tossed it together… that may keep it from being a truly detox salad, but the sweetness of the dried fruit wasn’t quite enough to cut through the acidity of the lemon juice.

I had to chop all these vegetables by hand. Ouch. I dream of the day when I can buy a food processor! It’s not worth it since we’ve moving in a few months, but soon! Soon!

I also threw some stuff in the crockpot so that Dubs and I can feast on Cilantro Lime Chicken this evening. I found this recipe a few weeks ago and have been wanting to try it ever since. Mmmm…. I do love a productive day in the kitchen!

Do you spend time preparing meals on the weekend so that you can just grab-and-go during the week? I am always looking for new things to try so please feel free to share your favourite make-ahead lunch ideas!

One thought on “A Day in the Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Trickery: Making a Modest Meal Look & Feel Fancy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers